72nd Annual Banquet
By Assistant Chief Adam Grossman
June 29, 2019

Members gathered Saturday night for an evening of recognizing another successful year at the Westwood Fire Company. The event took place at the Downingtown Country Club in East Caln Township and began at 7:00PM. During the hour prior, members and guests gathered for a cocktail hour with appetizers.

After the meal President Sly presented several members with years of service pins including a range from 5 to 45 years. Later in the night President Sly also presented Harvey MacDonald as a two time recipient of the Joseph Sweigart Memorial Award. This year Chief McWilliams awarded the Firefighter of the Year Award to Galen Conover and two time recipient of the Chester A. Taylor Fire Chief's Award went to Deputy Chief Randy Scott.

After these awards EMS Supervisor Joe Kennedy took the podium and recognized several of our career Firefighter/EMTs for their years of service including Joe Crawford, Michelle King and John McGrath. EMS Supervisor Kennedy also recognized several members, who were previously recognized at the EMS banquet, for clinical saves in our district in 2018. These career and volunteer personnel included Chris Biddle, Erin Biddle, Wayne Criswell, Erik Brecht, Max Scheibe, Nicholas Clark, Justin Carro, Cameron Kronmuller, Nicole Sciandra, Jamie Roche, Joseph Crawford, Michelle King and Randy Scott.

The last award presentation of the night recognized all of the municipalities that we serve and recognized them for the fire and EMS taxes they implemented in their respective townships in the past year. This included Fire and EMS in East Fallowfield and Valley Townships and EMS in West Caln, West Brandywine, East Brandywine and Wallace Townships.